Contributions by State from GlaxoSmithKline

Jeffrey ErnstFriedman | July 14, 2010

July 14, 2010 - The Senate Finance Committee released a report on its investigation into whether drug manufacturer GlaxoSmtihKline withheld information regarding risks of their diabetes drug Avandia. On Tuesday the committee released their findings stating, "The Finance Committee inquiry uncovered documents suggesting that GlaxoSmithKline, the manufacturer of Avandia, failed to publish studies that found serious health risks associated with Avandia in a timely manner and actively promoted the drug despite the known safety concerns." created a heat map of contributions from the drug manufacturer to all members of Congress from 2000-2010.

Below are the contributions totals to Senate Finance Committee members from 2004-2010. According to data provided by, Sens. John Kerry (D-Mass.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Bill Nelson (R-Fla.) and Olympia Snowe (R-Maine) did not receive contributions from GlaxoSmithKline during this time period.

Senate Finance Members contributions:

Robert Menendez$17,000
Michael Crapo$14,000
Jon Kyl$11,500
Blanche Lincoln$10,000
John Cornyn$10,000
Michael Enzi$10,000
Max Baucus$9,500
Jim Bunning$9,000
Kent Conrad$9,000
John Ensign$8,000
Jeff Bingaman$7,000
Orrin Hatch$7,000
Thomas Carper$6,000
Charles Grassley$3,500
Pat Roberts$3,500
Charles Schumer$1,000
John Rockefeller$1,000
Ron Wyden$1,000