Industries Supporting Trade Bill Contribute Nearly Nine Times More Than Opposing Industries

Daniel Stevens | June 12, 2015

On Friday, the House of Representatives voted down a trade-related provision effectively halting a major trade package, the Trade Promotion Authority (TPA), that would grant President Obama broad authority to negotiate and finalize trade agreements with Pacific Rim countries and the European Union.

Representatives voted 126-302 against a section of the bill, the Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA), that would grant financial assistance to workers displaced by trade. The provision, which was included in the Senate version of the bill, H.R. 1314, and passed on May 22, 2015, must pass before the full trade bill can go to the president for his signature.

The House is expected to reconsider the TAA early next week.

  • Industries supporting the Senate-passed version of H.R. 1314 have given 8.6 times more money ($197.9M) to current members of the House of Representatives compared to industries opposing the bill ($23.1M).

The chart below examines the campaign contributions given to each member of the House of Representatives from industries in support of and opposition to the Senate-passed version of H.R. 1314.

Top 25 Recipients of Contributions from Industries Supporting and Opposing H.R. 1314

To localize this data by your state's legislator click on the column head titled "state" from the bill page.

Name Party State $ From Industries $ From Industries
      That Supported That Opposed
John A. Boehner R OH-8 $5,332,976 $83,651
Kevin McCarthy R CA-23 $2,418,056 $20,500
Paul Ryan R WI-1 $2,286,703 $13,750
Pat Tiberi R OH-12 $1,650,936 $23,200
Steny H. Hoyer D MD-5 $1,611,051 $232,710
Fred Upton R MI-6 $1,560,688 $38,600
Peter J. Roskam R IL-6 $1,528,115 $10,896
Greg Walden R OR-2 $1,512,520 $17,028
Jeb Hensarling R TX-5 $1,475,617 $0
Charles W. Boustany Jr. R LA-3 $1,460,870 $27,750
Erik Paulsen R MN-3 $1,420,630 $24,010
Joe Crowley D NY-14 $1,349,502 $72,550
Bill Shuster R PA-9 $1,338,677 $32,000
Tom Reed R NY-23 $1,298,499 $11,500
Jeff Denham R CA-10 $1,269,113 $52,000
Steve Stivers R OH-15 $1,250,935 $6,000
Steve Scalise R LA-1 $1,212,617 $13,800
Patrick Murphy D FL-18 $1,197,944 $213,360
Rodney Davis R IL-13 $1,184,189 $50,692
Devin Nunes R CA-22 $1,172,450 $15,000
Richard E. Neal D MA-1 $1,165,342 $47,625
Ann Wagner R MO-2 $1,159,106 $7,850
Jim Himes D CT-4 $1,146,715 $61,700
Steve Israel D NY-3 $1,091,390 $147,950
Kevin Brady R TX-8 $1,063,894 $40,926

To view a full list of legislators, click here, then scroll down to the bottom of the bill page. You can sort by any column by clicking on the title heading.

Editor's Note: The vote shown in the far right column of the TPA bill page is for the House vote on passage. To see how much each member of the Senate received from supporting and opposing industries alongside their vote, click here.


MapLight analysis of campaign contributions to current members of the House of Representatives from PACs and employees of industries supporting the Senate-passed version of H.R. 1314 from October 1, 2012 to September 30, 2014. Contributions data source: